Serial: The Alibi

Serial is a podcast that focuses on non-fictional stories which take place over a series of episodes. Season 1: Episode 1, entited The Alibi, discusses the mysterious disappearance of a popular, well-loved high school senior, Hae Min Lee.

I know I tend to get a little sarcastic at times, and I know I tend to joke around a lot; but there are some cases in which humor shouldn’t be allowed. This happens to be one of the cases.

Hae Min Lee disappeared on January 13, 1999.

Her body was found a month later at Leakin Park.

The cause of her death: Manual strangulation.

There has been some speculation circulating Adnan Syed, her classmate and ex-boyfriend, on whether or not he murdered her.

He did…

Adnan Sayed (left) and Hae Min Lee (right)

It’s terrible. It’s absolutely terrible. To actually hear these police reports and recordings…It’s disturbing, really. However, it’s hard news. This podcast, which was released in 2014, brought light to the 1999 case. As I was listening to it, I actually became more and more interested–interested in what might have happened, I mean. It’s unfortunate, of course, but it’s also important to know what is happening in our world.

“I’ve talked to Adnan regularly, and he just doesn’t seem like a murderer.”

In one of the police reports, we listen in on one of Sayed’s friends who goes into detail about what was said to him. Mind you, it’s crazy. “I’m gonna kill that bitch,” is embedded in my head. His friend didn’t pay mind to it because, who would, right?  Who believes that someone would take it to a whole other level? It’s different when you hear something like that coming from a close, personal friend, you know?

I did listen in on something interesting, though…

This podcast is a little persuasive in some ways. As Sarah Koenig, the host, introduces us to the cultural neighborhoods, she sort of makes us think about people in general. She takes us to predominantly Muslim neighborhood. For lack of better words, she refers to a Hijabi as a “badass” (1). (2) She further explains Sayed’s family as a strict Pakistani family. (3) She also implies that he is a teenager, and that teenagers are bound to break the rules and rebel against their families. As if racial tensions/stereotypes amongst Muslims in America aren’t bad enough, you may think.

But, in a way, I’m sort of glad she mentions it. I mean, just because a woman wears a Hijabi, it doesn’t mean she is weak or submissive. Who knows, “badass” could be a compliment. I mean, I’m not sure if I would say that because it may offend a lot of people who are of that religion. But, most importantly, this goes beyond race and religion. The bottom line is: The murderer could’ve been anyone. Anyone. It just so happens to be a Muslim guy, in this case.

I’ve noticed something else as well…

She tends to curse more than once in this podcast. To me, it sort of creates another element to the podcast that isn’t needed. It’s inappropriate– bottom line. She’s sarcastic, somewhat emotionless, and extremely mono-tone. It almost made me forget about the main focus: How a young girl was murdered by her ex-boyfriend, and how her family and his family are now suffering from the consequences. I don’t like that. I feel as though there should be some form of respect here especially when it involves an innocent person’s life being taken away from him/her.

Of course, this shows the other side of the media: The less-emotional side. Compared to The War of the Worlds segment, this is straight-forward news. There is no relationship between the viewers/listeners and the broadcaster. We are, however, able to form our own opinions and emotions. This is all open to interpretation.

This whole idea of being emotionless and “not choosing a side” may or may not work. I wish I could say that she is not choosing a side, but I can’t. I just can’t. I know I’ve mentioned this before with the racial tension and everything, and how I said I was glad she mentioned it, but you have to watch what you say, because it could sound like you are taking a side. For instance, I think she mentioned something like how Sayed was the only Pakistani student in his class, which consisted of mostly black students, and she said something along the lines of, “Who else could it have been?” I mean… Really? I don’t like her. She doesn’t make sense to me. If you’re going to sound like a sarcastic, “think-you’re-funny” type, covering this case and all, and try to make it serious, you’ve got it all wrong. Sure, it makes it an easy-listen (if that’s even what it’s called), but it just doesn’t make sense. It doesn’t. I would honestly respect her more if she had chosen a side rather than to pretend she doesn’t.

She’s the type of broadcaster I would not trust.

It’s reporters like these who make me angry. I hope there are others out there who do show respect for Hae Min and other victims of murder.

To listen to the full podcast, click the link below.

http://serialpodcast.org/

Serial: The Alibi

One thought on “Serial: The Alibi

  1. Morena Basteiro says:

    Jamie,

    Interesting! I love your take on this since everyone I speak to looooves Sarah. I think you might be right, she’s being too opinionated and it might affect the news she’s delivering. I like that you take me, step-by-step, through what makes you dislike her and her style of writing.

    Like

Leave a comment